Worth the cost to work as a private practice dentist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JenniferDavison

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a returning college student and am taking my prerequisites for dental school. Because I will be starting my career much later than most people(and I still don't know for sure that I will be accepted into dental school), I will probably only be able to practice for about 15 years before I retire. Will it be more profitable to work in a private practice or as a salaried dentist? Is it always necessary for private practice dentist to buy the building or are there options that might be more beneficial, maybe renting a space from other self-employed dentists in the same building? Thank you for the answers!

Members don't see this ad.