Would I be in disadvantaged if I take the Canadian DAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Smooth Operater

don't bug "operatEr"!
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't know how many ppl can help me on this. I am a 2nd yr Canadian student and my GPA so far is around 3.2-3.3, so I think that I will most likely end up in one of private dental schools in US. But I would also like to apply for Canadian schools even though I have little hope of getting in. But you never know..As the summer is approaching, I am torned between on whether to study for the Canadian DAT or American DAT. So, would I be in disadvantage of getting in private schools in US if I use Canadian DAT score?

Members don't see this ad.

Smooth Operater said:
I don't know how many ppl can help me on this. I am a 2nd yr Canadian student and my GPA so far is around 3.2-3.3, so I think that I will most likely end up in one of private dental schools in US. But I would also like to apply for Canadian schools even though I have little hope of getting in. But you never know..As the summer is approaching, I am torned between on whether to study for the Canadian DAT or American DAT. So, would I be in disadvantage of getting in private schools in US if I use Canadian DAT score?

It will not be a disadvantage to apply with the Canadian DAT only. But, I think having the American DAT shows that you are interested in American Schools, not a last second decision, and in your case it is true. Also it makes it easier for the adcoms to compare you with other applicants, since few sections are different and they might have to make adjustments that they are too lazy to make especially when 2000 others are applying. Also the American DAT can be taken anytime, so do it in the summer, unlike the Can DAT where you can only do it during school :thumbdown: .