Would it Hurt to "Quit" My Job?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
H

HCHopeful

I have been running a karaoke business for a few years now (three to be exact). I have been doing a monthly gig at a bar in my hometown since then and also doing some birthday parties and proms. Now, however, I am thinking of putting an end to this, as I am worried about managing time this fall as I prepare for the MCAT in January. Between being involved in two peer education groups, volunteering with the Red Cross, fifteen credit hours, studying for the MCAT, being involved in a band (outside of the college), and a bit of shadowing, I am afraid it would make me burn out.

I know at first thought it may seem like something that shouldn't even be worried about, as karaoke/music has very little to do with medicine. I do believe, though, that it makes me a more well-rounded applicant.

As far as music goes, I am in a band that has been together for a year now. No, I'm not talking about a garage band, as we actually play shows around my home state. We actually opened for Chiddy Bang, if any of you know who that is! This band situation is both a business as well as an artistic endeavor.

Clearly the karaoke business would still go on my application, as I have spent nearly 300 hours the past three years running it. I'm just a little concerned that stopping something a year before I apply would say the wrong thing.

Am I over-thinking this? Is it okay to stop doing this for (at least) the semester? Any advice is appreciated. Thanks everybody!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
You and your well-being are more important than overloading yourself with school, MCAT, and work/ECs. If you need to cut out the business for a while to focus on other things, it's certainly okay.

Reactions: 1 user