Would MPH make sense with my background? Please help...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

steveNYot

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im in NYC. I was thinking of getting an LMSW to do some non clinical work but im hearing all sorts of things about social work in general. Low pay high stress. Etc.

I have 8 years of clinical experience as an EMT and patient care tech (ekg/phlebotomy) which i currently do for a psych hospital. I have an associates in liberal arts and im finishing up a medical billing and coding certificate. Im trying to get away from the clinical side of health and get into the admin/policy side. I have no desire to do RN or MD or anything like that.

I just want to do a masters and come out making something in the 50 to 60k range. I dont expect to be administrator or managerial role right when i come out of school. I wouldnt mind starting out in maybe a coordinator or patient navigator role.

Ive been thinking about MHA or MPH. I like the latter especially. Or maybe an bba with mph?

Problem is im hearing those 2 degrees are mostly for MDs and RNs. Is this true or do you think i could do well in it with the experience i already have?

Members don't see this ad.

Neither degree are mostly for MDs and RNs, though of course it makes sense to combine those degrees for many people. Getting an MPH in health administration/policy might eventually be something that you are qualified for; however, as they are Masters programs, all require a bachelors degree. You might consider finding a bachelors program with a public health major, but you can apply to MPH programs with just about any major provided you meet course requirements (usually in science and statistics). Good luck!