Would you rather?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PsychMajorUndergrad18

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I was just wondering if you would rather, as a professor, have a graduate student who knows actually what they want to study to the tee or a grad student who has a few interests that aren't as narrow or exact as the other person and is open to consider other interests of faculty or tie in topics that are related to his topic?
Thanks,
PsychMajorUndergrad18

Members don't see this ad.

I am not a professor but I could play one on TV.

I would want the potential student to be as sharp as they could be, irrespective of how their research interests apply to exisitng work. Meaning if you bring your own ideas, get them done. If you align with mine, great! Merge your ideas, but the work should be reasonable and then followed through, not lofty. I would shy away from a lot of bolstered talk, or failed promises. That is what I have observed and believe slows folks down or gets in the way, from the established researcher's/professor's perspective and work.

I love the saying "If you talk the talk, walk the walk."

Last edited:
Reactions: 3 users
Yes, I agree with cheetah. Of your options what matters to me is general ability to think critically with some idea of where they want to explore. I'm a firm believer that shutting yourself down to do only one thing is an unfortunate foreclosure of thought, especially since undergrad doesn't give you explosure to even half of the things in applied psychology. I know very few people who have not seen their interests shift some (or at least widen or adapt) during training. That isn't to say that people can't know, but don't expect to and don't assume you should.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
This thread was misleading...

Reactions: 6 users