Writing a letter to my doctor -- Advice..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

agent

agent, RN
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm writing this letter to my doctor to ask him for some advice. I'm hoping he responds. I haven't sent it yet and was wondering if there's anything you guys would ask.

=================================
Dear Dr. Dam,

I am a 25-year-old full-time student, husband, father, and computer technician. I have been going to school at night for quite some time now. I'm finally coming to a point to where I must select my major and my direction of focus.

Since my intestinal resection surgery due to Crohn's and the birth of my baby, I have developed a large interest in medicine. I have been talking with all sorts of people from all walks of life over the past six months and have come to the realization that it is possible for a non-traditional student such as myself to get accepted to a medical school and become an M.D. So a few months ago, I changed my focus and started down the pre-med track. I have quite awhile to go, as I haven't taken many of the pre-requisites yet.

I had heard from my wife that you might have not been such a traditional medical student as well. I am writing you to hopefully get some insight from a real doctor and someone who I respect. I have been mostly getting a lot of my information from student members of an online community at www.studentdoctor.net. Some of the discussion there has concerned me. Many people are posting about how the price of malpractice insurance is so high right now that in some places it's not even worth going to med school. Obviously, I don't just want to do it for the money, although that is a factor. I want to do it because I feel like it is a wonderful opportunity to employ myself in a field of lifelong education and to where I can share the benefits of my education with many people.