Writing your own LOR

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Aynsl156, May 10, 2007.

1. Aynsl156

2+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Medical Student
    Hi,

I work in a lab, and so naturally asked my PI for a recc. He's a good guy, and we get on very well. I've done a lot of good work for him, and he knows it. He even gave me a raise because I'd been putting in so much time. Anyways, my problem:

He told me to draft up a recommendation letter for him, which he will then "read over", and submit. This, in essence, means I get to write my own recommendation letter. Have any of you encountered this from your writers? What do I put down? Is there something specific adcoms like to hear coming from basic science faculty? Something to the tune of "Aynsl156 has social skillz and is not a weird research dork"?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. PepperMD

2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Talk about how attractive and awesome you are. They totally won't know you wrote it...

4. DrVanNostran

10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    This trend seems to be more and more common. Do a search on this, there are some pretty good threads on this.

5. blargh

blargh Membership Revoked
    Removed

Pre-Psychology
    maybe it's a test!

6. aspiring med

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    i had to do this exact thing a few months ago, and my PI's request caught me totally off guard and I was a bit insulted.

But I dug deep and wrote this rec letter for myself, listing my responsibilities, accomplishments, and strengths at the job. I avoided complimenting myself and stuck to the facts. I left the embellishing and polish up to my PI.

interestingly, my PI pretty much rewrote the entire thing and only borrowed a couple of sentences from my draft. it's a strong LOR, but i can tell it's from some prewritten format she keeps on hand.