Yale MPH vs. Emory MPH- Health Management

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UKO

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently got into both Yale and Emory for the MPH in Health Management and I am having a difficult time deciding.

I understand Emory SPH is ranked higher than Yale SPH but I'm sure the Yale brand is stronger. I'm a UPenn c/o 2008 grad (BA) so the whole Ivy appeal is not that attractive to me anymore.

I like that the Yale MPH Health Management program has requirements in the Yale School of Management which may allow for a more comprehensive health care "business" education. However, the program is SO SMALL.

The Emory program is bigger, in a more vibrant city with seemingly more practicuum opportunities.

What would YOU do? Any advice/insight is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Bear in mind that Emory's Health Management program isn't CAHME accredited ... yet

That's true. How big of an issue do you think that is?

Members don't see this ad :)
It's a small consideration and I'm sure Emory will get accredited down the line. And the whole SPH is CEPH accredited. Plus the CDC is a great org. to be associated with.

First off, I don't think the US News Rankings are a true/reliable evaluation about a school's program. Stories (another poster on these forums) has pointed out a rough correlation between study body size and ranking. It's all about finding a proper fit for an individual's unique learning style.

I think you would be more concerned with class sizes. Personally, I prefer a program with smaller class sizes. The best classes I've taken in my undergraduate exp have been seminar courses with < 20 students. Its far too easy and tempting to sit back in a class with 80+ students (my deal-breaker with Michigan's MHSA). And in larger class sizes, the class discussion is often led by a handful of students which isn't really how I imagine graduate level learning.