Mar 29, 2010
Status
I am admitted to both Yale(Chronic disease epidemiology,mph) and Emory(Epi, mph). The deadline is approaching, but I still have not made final disicions. I really need your inputs!

1, I am a undergraduate from a top China University. Obviously, I cannot visit the capuses. And the tuitions and fees make great difference to me. In which school can I get a TA/RA position more easily?

2. I hope to work in some health-related organizations after graduation, such as UN. I know that Atlanta is the so-called "public health capital" of US. Does the better location really brings about better outcome in job market?

3. I do not know the class size of Emory clearly. In general, how large are they?

Thank you very much!

Stories

Life Afficianado
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Mar 13, 2009
Los Angeles, CA
EDIT: These are for Yale
1.) It's not "easy" to get a TA (possible 2nd year, not in 1st) or RA position (somewhere on campus), but plenty of students hold these positions.

2.) If you are a Chinese national, being at Emory might not be a huge advantage because CDC partnerships usually only apply to US citizens (particularly when it comes to jobs) because it is a US government agency. That said, Yale has significant relations with China and the ties are advertised everywhere.

Last edited:
Nov 14, 2009
Status
1.) It's not "easy" to get a TA (possible 2nd year, not in 1st) or RA position (somewhere on campus), but plenty of students hold these positions.

2.) If you are a Chinese national, being at Emory might not be a huge advantage because CDC partnerships usually only apply to US citizens (particularly when it comes to jobs) because it is a US government agency. That said, Yale has significant relations with China and the ties are advertised everywhere.
I had some queries on TA and RA positions and since you mentioned these..I was tempted to post them here instead of starting a new thread. (don't mean to "hijack").