Year off: what to do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nateholman

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Man, I just made a tough decision to defer for a year from the med school I was accepted to. I spent like an hour just staring at the "send" button on my email account! Anyway, I think I am going to get a job at a research lab for the gap year and was wondering what sort of salary I should be looking for? I have a biology degree and really have no idea what the going rate is. Any tips? Any other job suggestions? I am open to anything...my life is totally without structure for the next year as of this moment. Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

Man, I just made a tough decision to defer for a year from the med school I was accepted to. I spent like an hour just staring at the "send" button on my email account! Anyway, I think I am going to get a job at a research lab for the gap year and was wondering what sort of salary I should be looking for? I have a biology degree and really have no idea what the going rate is. Any tips? Any other job suggestions? I am open to anything...my life is totally without structure for the next year as of this moment. Thanks!!

a little over minimum wage. maybe 10$ an hour starting? there are way too many bio grads on the market.

My advisor told me and others to not accept anything under 33K.

Members don't see this ad :)
You can work at a gas station for 8.50 an hour. Careful though, cause apparently you need experience, or else they wont hire you.

My advisor told me and others to not accept anything under 33K.

when did you last talk to your advisor. there's a huge influx of bio grads this summer. maybe 33k b/c of debt load, but you'd better have experience to be making 16$ per hour starting.