Yet Another Nontrad Seeking Some Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

buffyfreak

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been lurking around here and learning lots for a few weeks now! Just joined because I couldn't resist asking for some advice for myself. I hope in the future I'll prove to be a wealth of knowledge for others, but right now, I'm going to be greedy and soak up all the good information you guys have! :laugh:

Anyway, some background info - I graduated about three years ago with a BA in Political Science. I was originally premed, but all the chem and bio scared me off, and I convinced myself I wasn't smart enough. Lo and behold, 6 years later, I'm realizing I AM smart enough, and that I really want to pursue medicine.

Easy enough, right? Just join a post-bac program and get started!

Not quite, though. When I graduated with my BA, I was suffering from severe panic attacks and anxiety, and had to go to therapy to deal with them. Once I got that taken care of, there have been constant family medical issues to tackle. I'm currently living at home helping out with a sick parent. It's pretty much like having a full time job, which makes the prospect of joining a post-bac program impossible. Taking classes at a local 4-year university is quite difficult because the closest 4-year to me is about 45 minutes away. Factoring in traffic and general commute time, that's an extra two hours, on top of lecture time and labs. With the way my sick parent is right now, I'm lucky if I can get a couple evenings to myself.

I've been reading up on the community college vs. 4-year debate for pre-reqs. I understand that in an ideal situation, one should take their pre-reqs at a 4-year university. However, if I were to do that, I'd have to put off any plans of taking my med school pre-reqs at least until next fall. And even then I won't have a guarantee of my sick parent being any better.