Your opinion of occupational therapists in mental health

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theone12

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an occupational therapy student who just finished a placement in an inpatient physical rehab setting. It was a great learning experience but I found it boring, and felt more of a connection to whom people referred to as the 'difficult'/'unfun' characters on the ward. Some of the nurses used language that perpetrated mental health stigma which really annoyed me.

I shadowed an inpatient mental health OT for a day: I LOVED speaking to the patients but noticed that OT didn't say much during rounds and the nurses didn't seem to respect her duties.

Do you guys see a lot of OTs in psychiatric settings? (whether inpatient or outpatient) If yes, what do you think of their role in the team? I've heard that meds help patients the most, and wonder if OTs are taken seriously. I know we can do psychotherapy, but so can RNs, MSWs, MDs...

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
as you're probably aware occupational therapy was born out of the asylum and the moral treatment movement of the 19th century. Adolf Meyer, the most influential psychiatrist in America in the first half of the 20th century was a major proponent of the importance of occupational therapy in mental health (you can read his papers if you like history).