Your opinions are so helpful to me.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nayahrichard

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I am new to SDN, and have researched these forums relentlessly about my position in the application process. I would like the community to take a glance into my position and give me some brief advice. I'm sure you are busy with your own agenda. Thank you.

Non-traditional student.
Received poor grades first 2 years of school
-accumulated a lot of C's and F's
Just attending a community college without any goals or direction in mind. Numerous W's and let a lot of grades slip into C's and F's out of pure youthful indiscretion and carelessness.(Didn't care to withdraw from classes mostly)

Eventually quit school (In hindsight, it was a great decision) with a 2.48 GPA.

I decided to enroll back into school and graduated with a 3.51 in my last two years of classes (This actually took 3 years). This is all while working 40+ plus hours.

My overall GPA, needless to say, is still low. I brought it up to an institutional 3.07. After calculating my GPA based off of AMCAS guidelines (including all +/-, besides A+, and including all F's, but not W's) my GPAs are: aoGPA: 2.89 BCPM: 2.95 cumGPA: 2.94.

But without the F's, which I hope they would consider due to immaturity and carelessness, are: aoGPA: 2.89 BCPM: 3.35 cumGPA: 3.26. World of a difference, yet still not as competitive as I would like.

Again like I said my last two years I finished off with a 3.51 institutional GPA with some semesters 3.75 and above in upper level Chem and Biology classes. My GPAs are low because of the C's and F's i got from my first two years of schooling at the community college.

MCAT score (PS,VR,BS)= 10,9,11,P