How much does DSA software cost?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Epidural

Pain Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Someone told me that it costs about $15,000, but I heard at the ASRA meeting that you could get companies to include it for free when you are purchasing a new c-arm. Does anyone know how much it costs or where I can find out that information? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry for my ignorance but what is it?

DSA stands for Digital Subtraction Angiography and is used commonly in Neuroradiology. I am by no means an expert, but the idea is that you are subracting out non-moving objects. In doing so, you will be able to visualize vascular uptake more easily. In a recent article by Rathmell, there is a good example of how uptake of contrast is more easily visualized following the application of DSA software.

Answering my own question, someone e-mailed me and told me that it can cost anywhere from $20,000-$40,000 more. At the ASRA conference, Dr. Rathmell was the one who said you can often get the software included when you purchase a new c-arm.

Members don't see this ad :)