Advice for Harvard medical school admission

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mfalahat

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I am new to SDN. My friend told me about it and it seems to be very helpful. I am thinking about applying to Harvard medical school for the 2016 cycle. I have a 3.72 GPA. I am taking the new MCAT in August. Also, graduating in Honors in Molecular Biology and minoring in Chemistry. I am from Jordan and speak Arabic and English fluently. Any suggestion on applying there? Is there anything special I need to know?

Also, I got approve for FAP which means I have up to 16 schools to apply to for free.
I really appreciate all the help.

Members don't see this ad.

Have you taken a year of US coursework?

Is your degree from the US or Canada?

Members don't see this ad :)
PS. I am graduating from UAB (University of Alabama at Birmingham) and have an American citizenship.

Two thoughts come to mind:
1) your late August MCAT puts you behind the timing curve for application review
2) Harvard has a propensity to look at applicant's potential as future leaders in medicine, whether research, policy, etc
Is it really bad that I am taking the MCAT in August? Should I be considering maybe taking it in July?

yes of course. 2 in which they are in state.

FYI, Harvard's acceptance rate was 3.5% last year. You can apply, I wouldn't get too attached. Also, the elite schools are all pretty "snobby" (for lack of a better word) in that Harvard tends to prefer students who went to undergrad at Harvard. Coming from UAB, you're in for an uphill battle.

Reactions: 3 users
FYI, Harvard's acceptance rate was 3.5% last year. You can apply, I wouldn't get too attached. Also, the elite schools are all pretty "snobby" (for lack of a better word) in that Harvard tends to prefer students who went to undergrad at Harvard. Coming from UAB, you're in for an uphill battle.