Deleted

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

onamission!

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hello, first time poster here. I have read through many threads on here going back as far as 2004 on this topic I am still in desperate need of help with my situation.

I am a US grad, 220’s step 1 and 2, passed CS, good clinical grades, and excellent strong letters of recommendations from well-known top surgery attendings, matched at a well-known, university-affiliated community categorical general surgery program and starting PGY1 year. I have made a huge mistake and I am regretting both choosing general surgery and my current program. I had a hard time deciding between GS and anesthesia in med school, and had a 2 week anesthesia elective that wasn’t very indicative of the actual field (my school didn’t have a residency program). I ultimately chose surgery because I really liked the procedural aspect and liked the operating room. I want to do critical care and now realize that I still like doing procedures, surgical patients and the OR, just not operating.

I am now looking to start CA1 year on July 2017 after completing my surgery internship. I plan on working hard and learning as much as I possibly can during this year, doing as well as I can on evals/absite and taking step 3. I know that many surgery residents have switched into anesthesia, but here are my specific questions:

1. What are my chances of getting a CA1 spot for July of next year? I have no geographical restrictions; just want to train at a solid academic program.

2. Do I enter the match again this year, and submit ERAS? Do I apply to advanced spots or categorical spots? I would rather not repeat intern year, but will if I have to.