-

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

atSbarro

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
-

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I wouldn't.

Officially they cannot discriminate against you because of this. Unofficially, they will question whether you can handle the stress, and find a different reason to reject you.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Currently I'm a 4th undergraduate who will be taking a 5th year because of a leave of absence due to depression. To be clear, I am not going to ask if stating that I have depression will make it easier to get into medical school. I have a GPA of 3.71 and a science GPA of 3.68. However, depression has been affecting me for a long time, and my grades have been steadily dropping over time eventually leading to the leave of absence I mentioned previously.

I am now back at school and am currently under the care of a psychologist as well as taking antidepressants to help me cope with this. I've only recently started doing this (about 1 month) and symptoms of depression still come along frequently making it difficult for me to stay motivated for classes and keep up with work.

My psychologist recently advised that I take a look into the school's Disabilities Accomodations services which I would love to take. However, I do not know if this would negatively impact my chances of going to medical school as they may consider that I am unqualified for the more difficult work in medical school.

So the direct question is should I or should I not take this opportunity if I am interested in going to medical school?

Thanks a lot!
You may have to contact a psychiatrist. If you're still experiencing depression after a month of treatment, then it may be treatment resistant.