how important is undergrad GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bigstix808

Mac Daddy Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
ok, i'm not even in dental school yet, but i've had a thing for OMFS for quite some time now (shadowed quite a bit). i have been reading about how competitive it is, and yes, i would be ok with a general practice if i never made it into an OMFS program (no flaming please), but i have a concern about my UNDERGRADUATE gpa...

yea, i graduated with a 3.2 cum undergrad, but so far i'm a 4.0 GRADUATE student in biochem (proteomics - luv it!!). i have read that a lot of OMFS programs wont even look at you with out a 3.5 undergrad gpa. what is that all about? does that mean that i'm busting my ass in graduate school to keep up my 4.0, do my research, PUBLISH my thesis, and all for nothing?!?!

does this mean that i could make a 90+ on the boards, have a 3.75+ gpa in dental school, and STILL not have a chance to get in because of my damn UNDERGRADUATE gpa??? what's that all about?

i only ask because i was wanting to stay in GA to practice when i get out of school, and i was looking at Emory for a potential residency...i know it's a few years down the road, but it's never too early to start looking...

any ideas???

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think it matters when applying to 4 year programs. My GPA in undergrad was similar to yours and I got some interviews. I think it definitally affected my application to 6 year programs, but there might have been other factors involved (dental school attended, class rank, ect.). Get a good rank and board scores and you'll have a shot. Get into dental school, do externships, and make sure you even like it. Lots of students go and observe an OMFS residency in full swing (different from observing a private practice OMFS) and they get completely turned off.

Members don't see this ad :)