Critical Care Fellowship after Emergency Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Roy7

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I was just wondering if there is any way for a person board certified in EM can get a surgical critical care fellowship?

The only reason I'm asking, is because I'm currently on my surgical rotation, and as an EM physician I'd really like to be able to do so more surgery (appendectomies, cholecystectomies, minor internal fixations, etc). Things that would decrease the amount of referring out and help me be more versatile in a rural environment.

I could be totally wrong 'bout the critical care fellowship part... i'm just curious how I can learn the basic emergency surgeries in case I work somewhere without a surgical team on hand.

If this is a residency issue in that I'd be better served going to a rural residency program - anywhere in the MD/DC/VA area that fits those needs?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Surgical critical care does not mean you do surgeries. A critical care fellowship would qualify you to take care of ICU patients, not to cut them open.

If you really want to do appys, there is no way except to do the whole surgery residency (5-6 years)

Hey everyone,

I was just wondering if there is any way for a person board certified in EM can get a surgical critical care fellowship?

The only reason I'm asking, is because I'm currently on my surgical rotation, and as an EM physician I'd really like to be able to do so more surgery (appendectomies, cholecystectomies, minor internal fixations, etc). Things that would decrease the amount of referring out and help me be more versatile in a rural environment.

I could be totally wrong 'bout the critical care fellowship part... i'm just curious how I can learn the basic emergency surgeries in case I work somewhere without a surgical team on hand.