Pharmacy School vs. Dental School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rxofjoy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering what your opinions were on the profession of Pharmacy vs. Dentistry. Recently I have been contemplating the two. I have a degree in Biology and have wanted to become a pharmacist since I was a Jr. in High School. Recently I have been a bit nervous about pharmacy. It seems as if you can only make money starting out my doing retail. I have been reading horror stories about retail and I have a family to take care of, so I don't have a lot of time to do residencies to put me into the other fields of pharmacy.

Dentistry allows you to work hands on with patients and doesn't SEEM to be as stressful as retail pharmacy. I am so confused. What do you guys think about these professions and what they have to offer someone with children in the years to come?

Members don't see this ad.

both careers are great, but if you can handle dentristy...I say go for it! we need more good dentists out there, I have never came into contact with a dentist I liked. (Most are in a rush and try to get money out of you)

...when i was little, dentists were sooo nice!! what happened???

Money aside, it really depends on what career choice interests you most..

Members don't see this ad :)
haha, I'm the opposite. Since I was in high school, I wanted to be a dentist. Even when my sister was going to pharmacy school, I wanted to be a dentist. Last year I woke up and realized that I don't really want to be a dentist. I don't want to deal with the owning your own small business aspect. I mean, yeah, you can go into practice with other people, but still.

Whereas in pharmacy you can have your own independent pharmacy if you don't want a boss, or you can just go to work for a chain retailer, or a hospital type organization.