Lender not letting me defer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mr. Jess

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a first year med student who got an MPH before matriculating. I took out a Bank of America Education Maximizer loan for my MPH and I am now finding out that I can't defer payment on this loan because I am no longer in the program for which the loan was originally intended.

I have never heard of this before and I'm obviously very upset because I don't really have a budget to be paying back a student loan while I'm in med school.

I've considered reconsolidating, but a lot of lenders want you to either start paying back immediately, have an income, or have a cosigner. The third option is maybe remotely possible, but I'm wondering if there's anything else I can do.

Any help or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Jess

Members don't see this ad.

BoA may be legally within their rights to deny you a deferment and most likely on the loan note it stated when repayment would begin (alternative loans can write their own rules and do and there is no standardization). Somewhere on the note it may state "repayment begins __ months after leaving the program the loan was borrowed for" or something like that.