am I a URM?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aydinhatemi

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a turkish student currently studying electrical engineering at USA. I am holding a green card. Am I considered a URM or what kind of advantage will it give me in the admission process.

Members don't see this ad.

turkish?! Where'd you get the idea that you'd be a URM? URMs are hispanics and african americans.

I'm pretty sure you're lumped into the "white" category.

good luck anyway ;)

Also... I think you're in the wrong forum. This is for MEDICAL SCHOOL applicants.... not just any doctoral degree students. i know, the "doctor" in "Student Doctor Forum" is not very clear on that.

Members don't see this ad :)
Sorry I forgot to mention,
I am senior year student in Engineering (Kentucky) and applying medical school this april. So I am in the right place. Sorry about the misconception.

Even then, "Hispanic" is misleading because I am Hispanic (Costa Rican) and I sure as hell am not considered a URM. Mexican-Americans and mainland Puerto Ricans are the only Hispanics considered URM.

Originally posted by aydinhatemi
Am I considered a URM or what kind of advantage will it give me in the admission process.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Originally posted by drkingdingaling
women and indians as well

Not women.

And only Indians in the sense of Native Americans, not those from India.

why arn't asians considered URM?

Originally posted by omores
Not women.

And only Indians in the sense of Native Americans, not those from India.

excuuuuusssee me!! pardon my ignorance!

Unless the AAMC website is outdated, I'm pretty sure that not all Hispanics are lumped into the URM category.

AAMC