low GPA...need help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

asing011

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys... I am a fourth year undergrad and I have a GPA of about 2.6 and one more quarter to go.. i havent taken MCATs yet... Is there anything I can do to raise my GPA and just increase my chances?? What do I need to score on my MCATs to get in?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi guys... I am a fourth year undergrad and I have a GPA of about 2.6 and one more quarter to go.. i havent taken MCATs yet... Is there anything I can do to raise my GPA and just increase my chances?? What do I need to score on my MCATs to get in?

A Post-Baccalaureate Program or Masters Degree would be your best bet. You really have to raise that GPA (for both DO and MD applications).

A masters means nothing unless it's an SMP, and even then, it won't fix your gpa. Unfortunately you're gpa is too low to even qualify for an SMP (Georgetown, Cincinatti, Drexel, Tulane, Loyola, Rosalind Franklin, etc). Do a search on this, but the simple is to take post-bac courses to get up to a 3.0, then you'll stand a chance of getting into an SMP, provided you have a high enough MCAT score.

Members don't see this ad :)
Actually, with a GPA that low after 4 years, I don't think I'd bother with a post-bac in the sense that everyone else is using it. Instead, I'd go back and retake a bunch of classes that you got your worst grades in and prepare to apply to DO schools. AACOMAS will only count the most recent grade for a retaken course, so you can pump your GPA up in a hurry if there are a bunch of D's and F's running around on your transcript. If it's all C's...well, it'll just take a little while longer to fix everything.

There's no reset button if you want MD schools. However, I've heard of 3.0 getting into the Caribbean.