This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

localmotion2189

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Yikes! I hope you can get this figured out. This is a nightmare. Best of luck!

Hi, I am a soon to be graduate under the HPSP. Unfortunately, I was not able to complete a class and was recommended, according to an email, to be separated from the US Navy. This was very disappointing and came as a surprise to me because I was informed of this just as I was about to complete the requirement. I was informed that the reason for my separation was due to substandard academic performance because I was required to repeat my first academic year. Also, I did not graduate when most students in my class did this past June 2018 and had my graduation date extended one extra quarter. However, I have a difficult time agreeing with this decision because as of last Friday (9/14), I have completed the requirement and will become a fully certified dentist in just a few days. I am extremely concerned and disappointed of the situation I am currently in and had a few questions that I would very much appreciate some input on:

1.) Has anyone heard of an appeal process for this? I called the head of student programs for the US Navy HPSP and was told that I would have the option of sending documents to "PERS" (if I spelled this correctly). If I complete the requirement and have strong letters of support from faculty members from my school, could I expect a good chance that this decision to separate me could be overturned? Or is having this appeal process simply just a formality?

2.) Do you know, by any chance, what kinds of things are looked at in evaluation of my accession as a US Navy dentist in the HPSP program? What would increase my chances of having this decision overturned?

3.) Should I contact a lawyer about this matter?