PhD/PsyD Is it appropriate for me to address non-APA accredited clinical/counseling psych programs as "degree mills"?

Jun 6, 2019
Status (Visible)
  1. Psychology Student
I am an international student. Now, I decided to write some articles to tell the public in my country that this kind of non-APA accreditated program is not acceptable. Is it appropriate for me to address non-APA accredited clinical/counseling psych programs as "degree mills"?

Background:

Recently, I have found a person from my country goes to a non-APA accredited clinical psych program, which emphasizes "mind, body, and spirituality." The description of this "clinical psychology" program makes me feel I am reading about anything but clinical psychology.

In my country, the training system of clinical psychologists is not fully developed yet, and people who attend clinical psych doctoral programs in the U.S. are highly valued. Thus, I think now some people are beginning to game the system by attending some no threshold "clinical psychology doctoral programs" in the U.S., and then go back to my country by "getting gilded."

I just can't imagine these people will go back to my country, brag they were trained rigorously in the U.S., and practice clinical psychology.

AcronymAllergy

Neuropsychologist
Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Jan 7, 2010
Status (Visible)
  1. Psychologist
The primary exception to applying the term to all non-accredited programs is that it would also include new programs that may offer great training, but that haven't yet been accredited.

Outside of those situations, it may be accurate, particularly if the programs also have large class sizes, lax academic standards, poor outcomes for its graduates, and high tuition.

Reactions: 7 users

WisNeuro

Board Certified Neuropsychologist
10+ Year Member
Feb 15, 2009
Somewhere
Status (Visible)
  1. Psychologist