Loyola MSMP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hallidays20

Reaction score
I am a graduate of Loyola's MSMP and have been messaged a lot of questions about it, and so I thought I'd leave all my thoughts here about the program.

While it is a tough program (as it should be as this is the reason you are doing an SMP) the classes are very doable and the tests are fair. Some of them are definitely challenging, but overall everyone in my class did well. Tests are all MC on a computer in board-style (and same exams given to the M1s, but we are taught separately so are not graded against them or anything). We do a slightly different version of their spring semester in the fall and vice versa. If you look at the published stats by the program, the average GPA is usually between a 3.8-3.9 and this is because while the material is challenging and you will be studying a ton, if they let you into the program they know you can do well. The fall is the easier semester because you have only 3 real classes and then bioethics and professional development class (mock interviews, PS workshops, etc). The spring semester is harder because you have 4 classes, so you'll be a lot busier and be studying quite a bit more.

From what my classmates and I found, the program is very collaborative not competitive at all. You get the grade you earn and there is no curving. There are mandatory small group sessions with pre-assigned groups that are great for team-based learning.

The advising is another great thing about the program. Each advisor has a group of around 4 and you meet once a month-ish as a group and then as much as you want individually. Then the program director is most helpful for application type stuff and you can meet with them and email them with questions. They are especially helpful with the actual medical school application and really know their stuff about medical school admissions.