Radiation oncology for FMG?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jamaicacarioca

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've seen where there has been a huge decline in applicants for radiation oncology. How much of a chance do I have to match in radiation oncology? I cleared all 3 steps on the first try and I have been working in a surgical specialty with a huge cancer load for the past 7 years. I graduated almost 10 years ago.

Members don't see this ad.

As my chairman would say come on board. We Were basically told we have to match “anybody” with a pulse. An attending appeared physically ill at the thought of a dearth of a lukewarm hand writing their notes and “research”. This is the reality of the field now. The question is why would you want to? When i went to yellowstone i saw a hot geiser. It was a beautiful one. I could have jumped in and gotten 3rd degree burns all over my arse but i did not. Why do you want to jump in? There are other pretty things in this world to see.

• Haha
Reactions: 7 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Agree, excellent chance, with the caveat - have you been working as a doctor for the last 7 years in that surgical specialty or in a research/non-clinical position? That's the only wrinkle I could see, if you've been out of clinical medicine for 7-10 years. Even then, if you apply to every program...you'd probably match. Not sure what your end goal would be though, unless you were then willing to take a RadOnc job anywhere in the country.