22AA, 22 TS, 21 PAT, but low scores in two subsections. Retake?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thelilyhammer

Reaction score
Howdy ya'll,

I took the DAT last week and walked away with:

BIO: 27
OC: 24
GC: 17
PA: 21
RC: 25
QR: 18
AA: 22
TS: 22

My emotions are conflicted as hell. On one end I'm pumped about the sections I did well in. On the other, I'm bummed and a bit frustrated about GC and QR. I absolutely could've done better in QR as the questions didn't seem all that hard. My best guess is I made dumb mistakes but frankly, I sort of saw a lower QR score coming. What I'm most frustrated about however is GC. I'm actually a decent chemistry student and I can't figure out what the hell I did to get a 17 in GC. I walked out of it wondering if I'd left a bunch of answers blank. My best guess is that I just made dumb mistakes as a result of nerves (I tackled GC first) and not practicing the fundamentals hard enough (I knew all about thermo, equilibrium, redox, etc but got a bunch of qualitative/conceptual questions I wasn't sure of).

Just about every doc/dental student I know said to not worry and that my AA/TS scores are competitive enough and that my stronger performance in the other sections could make up for it. If I had a solid GPA and more academic achievements, I'd agree but as it stands I'm academically questionable. Non-trad, a ton of dental experience, and an upward trend in remaining pre-reqs/retakes, but a lower GPA and an overall lack of upper level sciences. My hope was that a strong enough DAT would do some heavy lifting for me on my app, but now I'm unsure.

I feel that I should retake but was hoping to get some opinions from ya'll.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Lily.