27 - Any Hope?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TabbyDragon

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
MCAT: 27

PS - 7, VR - 11, BS - 9

cGPA 3.81, sGPA 3.66

EC: A ton of volunteering, ~120 hours shadowing, 100+ hours volunteering at a hospital, and I'm looking to get a scribe job (I know it's too late for AMCAS, but it might help with secondaries/interviews). I was also a TA for Gen Bio in college.

I am a California resident.

If you were to ask my premed advisor, he would probably say it's hopeless and DO schools are all I have. Thus, I haven't told him my score and I'm feeling pretty discouraged. Note that I do NOT want to retake. I really don't think I'll do much better; my practice tests were 27-29. I was hoping for a 30, but it didn't happen. I'm willing to work with the 27, though.

By the way, I know that that PS score is pretty bad, but I am honestly terrible when it comes to physics. I don't do too badly in gen chem, but physics has always just been so difficult for me. I did what I could to learn it, but I don't know how much my brain can comprehend. Another reason why it would be pointless to retake.

I majored in Bio, but I'm more of a music/writing/drawing person than a "science nerd" (no offense to the science nerds :)). I'm hoping my personal statement will make me stand out, but who knows. I also hope the VR score will help a bit.

Now for my dilemma. I want to go to Loma Linda, but I am open to other schools here in CA, or in TX, NV, AZ, WA, or OR. I think I would be a really good fit for Loma Linda, so I would like to know my chances there, as well as for other schools in CA and the states mentioned. I really don't want to go the DO route, so I'm not sure it's even worth applying. I'm open to convincing on that topic, but I understand this is the MD forum, so there may be a bias. ;)

Sorry for the novel; like I said, I like to write. Thank you for any and all feedback!