3.15 cGPA, 29 MCAT 34 retake, chances next cycle?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cutterbug

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so my GPA is pretty awful and I wish I could say there's an upward trend but my last semester was actually my worst by far. I just graduated in May and it was kind of a reawakening for me. I studied all summer and increased my Mcat from the 29 I got twice to a 34. I'm currently volunteering abroad for 2 months, I'll be taking non degree classes in the spring and applying to SMPs for Fall 2014 and applying next cycle for MD schools fall 2015. My ECs aren't really anything special, I have volunteer exp in different areas, and I've held a few leadership positions but I don't have research exp (planning on fixing that once I'm back in the states).

If I can ace my grad classes this spring, do you think I have a shot at MD schools? I know it's only a semesters worth of classes but I'm hoping the Mcat increase would factor into showing my new upward trend. I just need the chance for an interview by which point I'm sure I'll have more good grades to show. I'm going to apply DO as well but I really am set on allopathic. Any and all advice is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

my last semester was actually my worst by far.
increased my Mcat from the 29 I got twice to a 34.
applying to SMPs for Fall 2014 and applying next cycle for MD schools fall 2015.
My ECs aren't really anything special, I have volunteer exp in different areas, and I've held a few leadership positions but I don't have research exp (planning on fixing that once I'm back in the states).

If I can ace my grad classes this spring, do you think I have a shot at MD schools?

Applicants with stats that are borderline for medical school (3.4GPA, 30MCAT, good ECs) have a decent shot at applying with a semester's worth of strong SMP grades and getting into medical school.