MD 3.35sGPA, 3.6cGPA, 30 (PS 11/ V 7/ BS 12) - Nontrad - Retake?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EBmed1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got a film degree after high school then went back and got a BS in Biology.

EC's (I worked full time throughout my degree)
I'm doing AmeriCorps with a nonprofit clinic during my gap year.
Volunteering Clinical setting - 90 hrs
Shadowing with Family Medicine MD - 60 hrs

The 7 on verbal is strange, I never scored below a 10 on any of the practice exams.

I'm applying as SES disadvantaged, both my parents are American, neither went to college. I got pell grants, was on free lunches at school. White female from underprivileged background. Washington state resident.

I'm applying to:
Loyola
University of Washington
Northwestern
Cooper
Drexel
Rush
SLU
Temple
University of Arizona
Rosalind Franklin

Should I retake?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I would consider retaking and then applying early next cycle. The 7 on verbal can potentially screen you out for many schools.

Members don't see this ad :)
7 was really strange. I've never scored below a 9, I almost always got 10's and sometimes 11.

You don't think I should retest? I am signed up for Sept. 12th test, under the idea that If I'm on a wait they might move me up when my score updates. Is that silly?

You don't think I should retest? I am signed up for Sept. 12th test, under the idea that If I'm on a wait they might move me up when my score updates. Is that silly?
What are the odds that you will help your application with another score?