3.4 sGPA, 3.5 GPA 31 Mcat /Tons of EC/ Please help me with my school list :)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

caliboydave

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, Hope everyone is having a wonderful evening!

I was looking for some input on my school list. I am a California resident, UCLA degree in molecular biology, 3.5(BCMP GPA), and 3.5 overall gpa. strong upward trend. straight As for over a year.

I got a MCAT of 31 ( 10P/9V/12BS) earlier this year

Here are my ECs and Research!

Research
-3+ years of research in immunology lab at UCLA
-3 abstracts published ( first author on 2)
- presented at 3 conferences
-3 publications ( 1 first author, 2nd author, and 3rd author)
-designated promising future researcher by UCLA school of medicine
- have one research grant from ucla

Employment ( last two years)
-paid lab assistant - assistant in lab at ucla jule stein eye ins.

officer in ucla research assistant club for last two years- help students find labs, mentor student in research

Medical missionary trip - rural clinic volunteer- summer 2012

hospital emergency department volunteer- 4 years

two summers of doctor shadowing - (pediatrics and internal medicine)

Tutoring of under privileged first generation students - founder- last 2 years

Member of student indian association- last 3 years

I have excellent letters of recs from lab pi, professor, medical directors, and supervisor

Heres my school list so far.

Please give me feedback on narrowing down my list! i want to get it down to like 35 schools. I would appreciate any input! thanks for reading!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Do you have a copy of the MSAR? It will really help.

Also, have you thought about how to respond to someone asking you "Why not get a PhD or MD/PhD?" You've obviously accomplished a lot in that sector.

Hello everyone, Hope everyone is having a wonderful evening!