35 yo non-trad in need of sound advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JazzyCA

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Background:

I'm 35 (just had my birthday last week!) and work as a lobbyist/government affairs director for a state-wide association. I've always worked in health care policy and have had the opportunity to work in a hospital, albeit in a non-clinical setting, so I have seen some of what the health industry has to offer. My father is a family practice physician, rather non-trad himself since he graduated med school at 35, and I have two cousins who are nurses, both NPs. I finally admitted to myself last year that I really want to be providing health care directly. I'm fascinated by surgery (have observed a few up close), but also really enjoyed spending time in the ER and dermatology units at the hospital.

The Catch:

I graduated college in 2002 (omg, 13 years ago) with a degree in religion, cumulative GPA of 2.7 - not sure my science grade is even worth mentioning. Frankly, the reason behind this is not a new story - I was a super high achiever who had no social life going into an Ivy League university and I didn't know how to ask for help, couldn't handle the work load, and definitely didn't know how to handle the social freedom. I had a good GPA in my major (3.5) but my early failures in physics and chemistry dragged me down. I'm aware that I would probably have to do an undergrad degree all over again just to get to a post-bacc program since my math and science classes are all over 15 years old.

I've been somewhat discouraged by early responses to my inquiries about post-bacc programs but I'm going to introductory sessions starting this January to get a sense of what kinds of classes would be acceptable to those programs in my area. Any advice on how to get over the hump of that early GPA? Or do I really need to pretty much repeat undergrad?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.