3rd year fellow, looking for my first job

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Smallmelon

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in my 3rd year, mid-tier academic program in midwest.

Despite publications in GI, I do like thoracic, breast, and benign hem. In other words, I enjoy variety w/o a strong desire to subspecialize. I want to go into general oncology, at least for the first few years, to get my feet wet and grow clinically strong. Later, if I develop burning desire for clinical research or administration, I can hopefully tailor my schedule; if not, I can just practice and make good money.

The fear is what if general oncology/community practice is a one-way street, and this commitment will permenantly closes the door to academia. What if I end up in a bad practice and quickly burn out seeing patients 4.5-5 days a week? Based on my goal, does university satellities make the most sense? Especially my home institution, since I know these people already.

Appeciate any feedback! I feel like an outlier, since all the other fellows in my program are going for academic positions...

Members don't see this ad.

I do think that an academic satellite MIGHT be a good option for you, but you need to choose wisely.

Some of them are academic in name only. Basically, the University buys a private practice, throws the "Man's Greatest Cancer Center" sign on the side of the building and calls it a day. Others are true hybrid/associated practices with teaching (student/resident/fellow) and clinical research opportunities (IIT or PI on industry or cooperative group trials).

I'm not saying one is better/worse than the other, but you'll probably get more of what you want from the latter than the former.