4th Year Medical Student Would Like to Transfer to PA School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bgabes

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a 4th year medical student currently on leave of absence (my father passed away earlier this year). I would like to complete my education in medicine, but have no desire to complete a residency or practice as a physician and am looking to transfer to a PA school. I attend a "top 50" med school, have completed all my core clinical rotations, and recently passed my USMLE Step II Boards (I scored near nat'l avg which is good considering my father was terminally ill at the time). Has anyone ever heard of someone so far into their medical school education transfering to PA school. Does anyone know of any schools who would allow me to transfer over credits? Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

sorry about your family situation.
you would need to reapply in most cases. if you are at a school that has a pa program and the pa program and the medschool take courses together you may get credits for those courses at that school only.
at this point it would probably be faster to just finish yr four and do a residency.
you would need to apply(assuming you have all the prereqs as these vary school to school). so that's 1 yr. then assuming you are accepted even if you get credits for a few courses you would have to do the whole 2 yrs to get the remaining courses as most programs only teach each course once/yr. that's 3 yrs aka a residency in em, fp, im, etc.