A hospital's mistake paralyzes a designer. He got $20M, and an unusual promise

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BLADEMDA

Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
http://www.cnbc.com/2016/06/19/a-ho...signer-he-got-20m-and-an-unusual-promise.html

Please read the article and tell me if he deserved the $20 million.

A former top Microsoft designer, de los Reyes became a paraplegic after a visit to Overlake Hospital Medical Center in Bellevue, Washington. His repeated warnings that he might have suffered a back fracture weren't properly heeded by doctors and others at the institution, which left him confined to a wheelchair.

Members don't see this ad.

From the comment section at the bottom of the article:

Priaptor (that was the name):

"As a physician, I can tell you as a result of Government regulations many preceding Obamacare, the dumbing down of medicine, the "mandate" of paraprofessionals, etc, physicians have become box checkers for the next test and secretarial drones to fill out useless paperwork lest they get "penalized". We also have no clout and these technicians, etc act with total immunity from any and all mistakes they make. When you report them it is the doctor that comes under scrutiny not the offending paraprofessional. I can guarantee you that part of that 20 million came out of many doctors that had nothing to do with the patient's care. So the guy with a history of Ankylosing Spondylitis comes in, likely gets seen by a PA or Nurse Practitioner, who order a CT of the Abdomen when he should have had a CT of the Lumbar Spine followed by an MRI and the radiologists of course can diagnose it because the scan doesn't assess the abnormal body part but I can guarantee you the radiologist got his rear end sued off. Worse yet, the ER doctor comes into the cubicle AFTER the least qualified people "helped" work up the patient to be handed information that they got wrong and leads h