Advice about Residency Transfer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

milsha

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey there,

I'm currently an intern at a program that's far away from my hometown. I have been adjusting fairly well into my program even though it is a busy program with a demanding schedule and have done well (or at least have not done bad enough to be called out on anything yet). I have even gotten on the difficult faculty's good side due to my consistent hard work. However, after a recent visit back home to see my father in a weak state of health, I have been very depressed since I've come back home and miss him very much. Although my work has not suffered and patient care has not changed, I still worry about him constantly and want to be close to him. Since he is still working and has younger children, he cannot come to stay with me, but I am curious as to what the likelihood of transferring is for someone into a second year spot? I feel like even if I were in the same time zone as him it would be helpful. All of this was in the back of my mind when I applied and matched, but unfortunately, due to my lack of competitiveness, I went higher on my rank list and into my safety list than I had hoped (still glad I have a job though!).

I just wonder if anyone would recommend transferring if one has no problems with the program but cannot be fully happy given the distance form loved ones. I was fortunate to attend medical school close by so that makes being away even more foreign. Eventhough I have a difficult workload, I still enjoy working in my program and have grown accustomed to the pace. The area that I would want to transfer to has a few Psychiatry programs, but most of them when I applied to last year, I did not match due to lack of competitiveness.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: