Advice on becoming a strong applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Haray07

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, a quick introduction of myself. I'm currently in my 3rd year of Neuropsychology phd program. I'm debating whether I should quit and start to prepare for med school application (i.e. take classes, MCAT, volunteering), or should I stick out and then apply? My ultimate goal is to become a neuropathologist. I have another 3 years (at least) left in my program to get the Phd. If I do plan to persist through, what preparations should I have in the meantime? It's very unlikely to take classes as my schedule is pretty much full. I'm focusing on getting some publications out. I can try to shadow some doctors at the hospital where I'm doing my practicum, but other than that, any advice in terms of preparation? Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Not only do you have to shadow, you need to volunteer with patients, AND engage in service, so show off your altruism.

Keep in mind that your graduate GPAs won't count for MD schools (but will for DO).

You will need to explain in your apps why you're running TO Medicine, and not merely running away from research. Finishing your degree will prove you with career backup, and show that it's less likely that'll bail on Medicine like you bailed on your PhD.