Advice on studying for organic chemistry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OrganoMetallic

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am currently a post-bac student at HES taking organic chemistry. I studied the liberal arts in college and graduated with honors but I am getting rocked in Organic Chemistry and am looking for some advice on how to improve my study strategies. So far, I have been attending each lecture and review session, completing practice problems, and reviewing the p-sets. The p-sets have been going fine, but when it comes to the exam and I do not have my notes, I find myself freezing. The first exam wasn't terrible (C+) but I have a feeling the second exam was not much better. Anyone have any strategies that helped them prepare for exams?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

I am currently a post-bac student at HES taking organic chemistry. I studied the liberal arts in college and graduated with honors but I am getting rocked in Organic Chemistry and am looking for some advice on how to improve my study strategies. So far, I have been attending each lecture and review session, completing practice problems, and reviewing the p-sets. The p-sets have been going fine, but when it comes to the exam and I do not have my notes, I find myself freezing. The first exam wasn't terrible (C+) but I have a feeling the second exam was not much better. Anyone have any strategies that helped them prepare for exams?

You should get the Klein textbook and solutions manual and use that. The difference between Klein's book and the book my professor followed was night and day. Klein's book made ochem interesting and understandable, and resulted in me getting a relatively stress free A. For the few weeks I was using the official course textbook, it was a real struggle.

Klein's second language book is also excellent and I had it as well. But if you're only going to get one, get his full textbook.