This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

plath95

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello- I am new to SDN and this is my first post, I would love any recommendations for my situation.

I graduated undergrad with a veryyy low GPA, overall 3.0 and sGPA around 2.7 due to some bad things that happened to me, and depression as a result. I definitely showed an upward trend was i was able to overcome these issues, and was getting 3.5 and over the last 1.5 yrs. I recently took my DAT and was able to get a 23 AA, and 24 PAT.

My ECs are very good, I have research, lead my own dental club, have countless shadowing hours and 4 dental mission trips which I organized and fundraised for myself. HOWEVER, i am aware that nothing really makes up for a bad GPA.

It's my dream to be a dentist and i don't want to give up on it. Does anyone have any recommendations about if and where i should apply next cycle? If you don't think I can get in to dental school, are there any recommended post-baccs or masters? Anyway, I would so much appreciate any help from people who have maybe had more experience than me. Thank you so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 3 users
I think you have an excellent chance of getting into dental school as long as you have all of your pre-recs. Be aware that some schools have strict GPA cutoffs, so avoid applying to those schools. However, your DAT is very good!! Focus on writing a good personal statement and you will definitely get some interviews next round. Good luck!

Reactions: 1 user

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)