Advice re: practica and internship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychgirl757

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am in a horrible situation in my clinical psych, PhD program and need some help/advice. Although my program comes from a generalist perspective, I have sought out practicum placements in the behavioral medical setting (i.e., pain, bariatrics, C/L) on my own (that were approved by my program) for the past three years of being in this program. I am in my fourth year and basically forced into a practice placement in the school setting for the second time. I conveyed my concerns, but my program believes I am not receiving the "traditional" therapy experience.

Luckily, I have traditional, long-term therapy experience from my master's program, but feel as though I will not be a good candidate when I apply for internship with two years of practicum experience in a school setting. Basically every time I question the reasoning why I am being placed in a setting that will not be helpful, I get reprimanded. It's almost like I am being pushed into a corner. I have no else to turn to because none of the faculty members want to help me.

With all of that being said, I am truly on the verge of dropping out, especially since I am not receiving a stipend. I am not sure what else I can do and wondering if I should leave the program. Thoughts? Advice??

Members don't see this ad.

Thanks for your response, psycscientist.