advice re: PTA school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vinganca

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in my first semester of OT school, and I'm really feeling like I made a mistake. This isn't the field for me. I originally wanted to go for PTA, but I talked myself out of it bc I was worried about the salary being too low to live on comfortably, and bc I was worried about the future of the PTA profession once this round of medicare cuts and healthcare reforms come roaring through.

So basically I guess you could say I chose OT for the money, when my heart and interest is really in the PT field. Unlike some others though, I have no desire for autonomy. Sounds funny, but it's true. I have absolutely no problem taking orders from a PT and/or not being in charge; I have no burning desire to design my own treatment plans and am happy to carry out the plans that the PTs come up with. I don't plan on going back for the DPT and assuming the salary does provide a decent living, I am content to work as a PTA until I retire.

The problem is, I already have about $30k in student loans from my bachelors degree. Either of the PTA programs in my area will run me another $20k. So basically my total loans will be equal to a year's (gross) salary as a PTA. :eek:

Anyone here who has gone the PTA route at any time, if you don't mind my asking, what was the financial situation like? Did you go back for the DPT because you wanted that autonomy and further training, or because you were finding it difficult to live on your wages as a PTA? Did you have loan debt heading into PTA school, and how manageable was it to pay it back?