Air Force EM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Snowdon48

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a second year med student on an AF HPSP scholarship and am curious about AF Emergency Medicine. I found a couple of older threads on this topic but couldn't find anything recent. Here are my questions:

1) How is the overall quality of AF EM residencies? Do you feel that you see the same type of acuity as civilian EM residents?

2) How frequently do you deploy? In a 4 year commitment should I expect to deploy more than once?

3) How is the lifestyle of an AF EM doc? Most civilian EM docs I have talked to say they chose EM because of being able to work long shifts and then have significant time off, does that principle apply to mil EM too?

4) Is skill atrophy still a big concern due to lower acuity in mil ED's?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

you might change your mind about your specialty in your 3rd year. navy EM doc here.
1) dont know the quality. but speaking from the navy side- less acuity
2) deployments are overall ramping down, but still happen- Navy goes for 7-12 months depending on billet. AF I heard goes 3 months. Number of deployments depend on what is happening in the world and in your specialty.
3) first off- most civilian em docs work similar schedules to active duty em docs- it depends on the site- 8,9,10,12's ( don't think any place in the military world does 24s). You can find some civ places with low acuity and low volume that does 24's. Most places you can work 4-7 days in row. As a resident- you will need to average 1 day off a week and can't work more than 65 hours averaged per week (RRC and ACGME rules).
4) its a concern unless you moonlight as an attending. but I think thats it every field in milmed.

Thanks for the reply