Air Force HPSP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctorloading

Reaction score
Hi! So, I have two questions

I already commissioned into the Air Force under the HPSP program, just finished my first year of medical school, and am attending officer training school this summer. My first question is, when are we supposed to complete the AFOM 101 course. The standard I see is the summer between first and second year for those who were able to complete OTS before starting school; however, it obviously doesn't work in anyone's schedule who has to do OTS between the summer of 1st and second year. When are other people doing it if they couldn't do it before 2nd year?

And my second question...When I commissioned, my recruiter told me that I had two options regarding the sign-on bonus: I could accept the taxed 20k right then and there or wait until I graduated from medical school and then I would be eligible for a larger bonus. I decided to reject the bonus, but now that I was looking into it, I couldn't find anything about what the larger bonus would be or anybody who decided to go this route at all. I mean I didn't need the money then, or now, but I would have just taken it anyways if it comes out that I was given misinformation. Has anyone else heard about anything like this?

Members don't see this ad.

Sounds like Your recruiter lied to you about a later bonus, I’ve never heard of that before unless it’s something new. Do you have in-writing a promise of a later bonus? If you are going to reject a 20k bonus, you need to make sure you have in-writing in the contract that you will receive a larger bonus down the road.

Or at least have an email from the recruiter so you can prove you were given fraudulent information. Although you signed a contract rejecting the bonus regardless so it may make it difficult to get that money ever even with an email.