Am I doing enough?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mz23

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in my third year, I just transferred to Benedictine University from Harper college with a 3.5 GPA. I don't think that I will take the MCAT this year because I won't have taken Biochem or Physics. My question was, are the following extra curriculars enough?
1. Joined AMSA of BU
2. Joined MSA (Muslim Student Association)
3. Volunteered at Sherman Hospital for 1 year
4. Shadowed a pediatrician as well as a psychiatrist (once a day for a month each)
5. Taught at the Sunday School at my mosque for 3 years

Is that enough? If not, what else should I do?

Members don't see this ad.

I am in my third year, I just transferred to Benedictine University from Harper college with a 3.5 GPA. I don't think that I will take the MCAT this year because I won't have taken Biochem or Physics. My question was, are the following extra curriculars enough?
1. Joined AMSA of BU
2. Joined MSA (Muslim Student Association)
3. Volunteered at Sherman Hospital for 1 year
4. Shadowed a pediatrician as well as a psychiatrist (once a day for a month each)
5. Taught at the Sunday School at my mosque for 3 years

Is that enough? If not, what else should I do?

From that description your ECs look a little bit light. Try to seek out other volunteer opportunities. Your most meaningful one is #5 which is great, and you might be okay with just that, but I'd encourage you to explore anything else that interests you to add on.

Did you actually interact at all with patients in #3? If not, you'd definitely need some clinical experience.

Also take your time and write the MCAT whenever you're 100% sure you'll do your best. That's obviously the biggest question mark for you, so you need to do well.

Try getting some more regular clinical volunteering (weekly) or some research on campus.

Amsa unfortunately doesnt count for much.