Another Adcom, ask me (almost) anything

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hushcom

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a practicing physician who serves on the admissions committee of an allopathic medical school in the United States. I am also not new to SDN, having seen the cast of characters evolve here over a number of years. Some recent threads in the pre-allo forum have compelled me to start this one. While I am not a longstanding and venerated member of the committee, perhaps someone will find my two cents useful and/or interesting.

So please, have at it.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 20 users
Hello and thank you for doing this.

How strong of an uptick at all have you noticed in the strength of this year's app class?

Do you have any suggestions on how to figure out your specialty?

What is your specialty if you do not mind disclosing and what do you feel is the greatest challenge to it in the next 20-30 years? What about physicians in general?

As an interviewer, what is your preferred interview format, MMI or traditional and why?

Thanks again!

Hey hushcom,

Thanks for volunteering to do this. I'm pretty sure a lot of pre-meds (including myself) often feel that this process as pretty random and incoherent. If you would be so kind as to share, in as much detail as you're allowed, to discuss how interview invites/acceptances are conducted at your school it would be much appreciated (in regards to a 'point system' or discussions on a particular applicant, or anything else relevant!).
Thank you again!

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
How do you and your colleagues feel about an applicant that has enrolled or completed an SMP at a D.O. school? Would it ever possibly hurt the applicant applying to M.D. schools, even if the applicant has done well in the SMP?