Any point in joining the Army NG now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

studocplsignore

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a first-year DO student at a private university, 22, and living at home with the parents. The tuition is, as expected, very high, so I have been looking at HPSP, FAP, and other programs as a result. I don't quite like the commitment for HPSP and FAP, and so have been looking into the Army National Guard as an option. I'm particularly interested in their HPLRP program, which I know starts earliest in PGY-2. However, as an OMS-1 now, is there any advantage to enlisting in the NG now as a medical student if I do not plan to take any stipend and thus incur no future service. An upperclassman friend mentioned it to me as an option, but I'm not sure what the significant advantages are.

From my research, it seems to basically be (1) you get a rank in the NG (2) you receive drillpay and GI Bill assistance (3) you're in the system in preparation for HPLRP in exchange for (1) going to officer training (2) drilling on the Flex Training schedule. Does that seem correct?

Also, as a medical student, can they deploy you while you are still in school? From what I have read, it seems like they can, which would, of course, really mess up my educational schedule. I would appreciate any help from people who have had this experience before. In essence, I'm wanting to know if there's any significant benefit from joining now, rather than in PGY-2. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm an MD student who just matched, and I am in the Army National Guard. Per Army regulation 601-25 you are non-deployable and exempt from active duty until completion of your residency. I already had 8 years prior service so for me 4 years med school + 5 years residency = up to 17 years non-deployable, and 3 more I can retire at 20. So for me it was a no brainer.