Anyone else feel like this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DancingFajitas

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a 4th yr medical student doing a Sub-I at a hospital with zero residents. Its pretty much just me, the nurses, and a random doctor or two. The attending I'm with will come and go, he is usually there in the morning and then leaves me alone all day....so of course, I am paniced. Yes, I can call him if I need help, but no one wants to harass an attending all day. I feel incompetent and I'm forgetting even the smallest things that I A) knew a week ago or B) know when I get home and am not forced to think under pressure. Its frustrating, but I understand that it is all part of learning, yada, yada. I'm just wondering who else felt/feels like this and what can I do to get better and have more confidence and not panic when I get stuck with a CHF patient who is currently extremely SOB and in aflutter...HELP!!

Members don't see this ad.

That sounds like an odd situation. How did you end up doing a sub-I somewhere without real interns or residents?

What does the attending expect you to be doing all day? At least in my state, medical students can't write orders unless they're co-signed by a doctor, so I don't understand your role in this system.

It is a small hospital kind of dwarfed by the larger university hospital. He signs my orders eventually, but generally I'm there all day doing things by myself really without a clue as to what I'm really doing. Its no fun.

Members don't see this ad :)
Does your school know about this?

I cannot imagine this meets the requirements/standards for a Sub-I. Besides being a little scary, you're wasting time when you could be learning. Where is the attending when he leaves the hospital? In his office? If so, why aren't you there with him?