Anyone have some spare time to read my PS? I'd appreciate it!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jezzielin

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Any feedback would be great. I like it, actually. I get to talk about how I came to want medicine, my volunteer/shadowing experiences, college (had one low grade - not failing or anything), and finally my conclusion. It is pretty much error free but I do have to shorten it around 50 characters - not a prob, lol, that is like a sentence! :p

Thanks!!! :)

--------------------------------------------

With my parents separated and my mother working days as an ER nurse, my sister and I took our daily walk after school to the hospital to meet her near the end of her shift. We waited in the supply room, where we hung out with the other nurses and physicians on the floor while we ate ice cream from the patients’ refrigerator. Being so young, I was always curious as to what my mother was up to while we waited. Peeking around the corner of the room, I watched my mother work on a patient in trauma one. She handled herself with such control and professionalism I just could not stop watching, wondering what might happen next.

Ever since then, I knew I was wanted to work in medicine, but it wasn’t until afterward that I understood exactly why I wanted to become a physician. Years later, I found myself peeking around the same corner into trauma one once again, this time watching my grandmother. Dying of Multiple Myloma, I saw the same nurses and physicians that I had known back as a child, working on her. It was then that I understood the complexity of such a highly respected field: The dedication not only towards the education, but to the patients – the ability to be a compassionate intermediate between medicine, patients, and their families, and also to be able to touch the lives of people in their most critical hour.