Anyone here start as a DA or RDH?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mintyleif

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Did anyone here start out as a dental assistant or dental hygienist before becoming a dentist?

I'm considering doing either of those before focusing on getting into dental school, that way I'll have experience in the dental field and know for sure if I like it or not. Also, I feel like it might help with admissions, though correct me if I'm wrong.

Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

Great question!

I graduated from USC Dental School in 2013 but was a DA for 2 years before dental school while in undergrad. I can promise you that being a DA makes dental school much easier. 2 years of observing a dentist first hand can really help with patient management. Plus, as a DA, you know all the steps to doing restorations so when learning the details in school you have an idea of whats coming up.

In my cas my admissions packet was very very poor when looking at DAT and GPA. My GPA was around 3.0-3.1 and my DAT AA was 19, so overall not a great looking candidate, but I know it was my DA experience that allowed me to get into dental school the first year I applied.

The only difficuly I found was that I often diagreed with the faculty as they are teaching from an academic perspective which is almost worthless in a real world situation.

Hope that helps.

Very good idea, if you feel that you are not ready to start dental school. It give you a lot of experience. The best opcion is to start working like DA in a residency program. You will see everything there, working with the residents as DA.. good luck!!

Members don't see this ad :)
Great question!